‘Imaginary Lover,’ the Fleetwood Mac hit no one knows

I’m listening to Atlanta Rhythm Section’s “Champagne Jam” album this morning, and enjoying it thoroughly.
And it brought to mind a trick I learned after reading about it in Rolling Stone. (“Oh, it’s gotta be true!” – “Billy the Mountain,” Frank Zappa)
Rolling Stone said if you sped up “Imaginary Lover,” it would sound like Stevie Nicks and Fleetwood Mac. I was still a few years away from a turntable where I could mess with semi-tones, but if I played the album at 45 RPM, it sounded close enough, and amused the people around me.
And someone has helpfully uploaded a YouTube video to give an example of the sound.

(If you want to go straight to the Stevie Nicks part, it’s at 1:11, or here: https://youtu.be/ckDlGYU4MUQ?t=1m12s)
It doesn’t make the song any better or worse, I don’t think, just different. And certainly interesting.

Leave a comment