‘Sgt. Pepper’ is here!

236 - sgt pepper

I just finished pre-loading the August entries for this project.

(Yes, I do most of the work in advance. I don’t just happen to post them between 7:30 and 9 a.m. daily. There are programs that allow for pre-posting, and that’s what I use. Don’t judge me.)

(And don’t judge me on this, either. Although I suspect you will, and you probably should.)

In the last week of August, The Beatles’ Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band” makes its appearance on The Big List.

It’s at No. 130.

I know, I know. It’s one of the greatest albums ever made. It finishes at or near the top of every critics’ poll conducted. And it doesn’t even crack my top 10, or 50, or even 100?

Well, what better way of showing this is my list of favorites?

It’s not as thought I dislike “Sgt. Pepper.” It’s ahead of thousands of other albums.

But as I’ve looked at the albums higher up the list, I’ve again asked myself (as I do virtually every day, with every album), “Do I REALLY like this more than that? Does this really deserve to be where it is?”

There have been a few times I’ve felt the list didn’t accurately reflect my current feelings. I realize now, for example, I have Yes’ “Close to the Edge” too low and the Housemartins album too high. It was more accurate last year. Re-exposing myself to these albums and reflecting on what I do and don’t enjoy, I realize my taste is ever-evolving.

But I looked 40 spaces ahead of “Sgt. Pepper,” album by album. And the answer always was, “Yes, I enjoy this album more than ‘Sgt. Pepper’.”

You don’t have to agree with me. I suspect most won’t. But this list has turned out to be about 90 percent accurate, which is as good as I think I could have hoped.

Leave a Reply

