What did that Tweet mean?

I received a direct message on Twitter over the weekend, a message that showed sometimes even truth in advertising can sound like an insult.

My Tweet was my honest evaluation of the 19-hour playlist I’d just started on Tims365-Radio1.  (If you want to get a tattoo in its honor, might I suggest something simple like ‘T365-R1’? That way, if you’re in a different group of people, you can declare yourself the world’s biggest “Star Wars” fan and say ‘T365-R1’ is the name of one of the robots.)

My Tweet was:

“Like classic free form FM radio, but more Marshall Crenshaw and less Boston….”

I received a message asking, “What’s your problem with Boston?”

The short and simple answer: I have no problem with Boston. But if you want to hear “Long Time” or “More Than a Feeling,” you know where to look. If you want to hear “You’re My Favorite Waste of Time” by the guy who wrote it (and had so much great music he could put it on the B-side of a single), then what I’m playing might be your thing.

What I would hope is you’d recognize about a third of what you hear, be receptive to another third, and realize that even if you despise the other third, something else is going to come along to make it better.

Hence the slogan: “Each song is the perfect antidote to the previous one.” Maybe that’s a shade precious, and maybe that’s not 100 percent true. But it could be.

I came in on the back end of free form FM programming. I loved the idea that I could hear Eric Dolphy, Bob Dylan, The Who and The Knack consecutively.

I’m trying to stay away from much of the tried-and-true radio cuts. So, no Boston, no Ryan Adams, no Billy Squier, not even any U2. This station is all stuff I like. And I like Marshall Crenshaw (and a lot of other acts) more than any of those.

I think I’m playing stuff you don’t hear every day. At least I know I don’t hear it every day. Check it out, and let me know what you think. Even if U2 is your favorite band.

Leave a Reply

